Episode 2 Letter from Bill

Posted on

In May of 1995, six years after I had initially written to the Adoption Registry, I received my first letter from my brother.  The letterhead said, “Friend of Youth – The Optimist Club of …..”  He had been thinking of me and was so excited, he couldn’t sleep.  He wanted to meet me as soon as possible.  I lived in Quebec at the time and he was in Ontario, but still a good distance for both of us.  So we talked frequently by phone and then the miracle happened!  Bill asked for a week off in June and he got it!!  He would be visiting me in Quebec to meet for the first time!  He would also bring documentation he got about our birth father and another sibling. In future episodes, I will tell you about our meeting and about all the wonderful documents he shared with me.  This was only the beginning of an adventure that would take me from finding one sibling to finding many and also my birth mother and a whole other family.

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment