Episode 4 BILL’S VISIT AND AFTERMATH

Posted on

I never really got over the urge to stare at him – that would come later.  The week he was with us wasn’t filled with sightseeing or touristy stuff.  We mostly stuck around the “yard” (forest) and talked about ourselves.  He told me about his wife and two daughters and about being adopted and his life up until then.  I did the same, except instead of two daughters, I had a son whom I had not seen for a long time, since he was given up for adoption after a few months for reasons of health.  More about that later.  My husband and I had no children, as I was unable to have any more.  (Since this is a genealogy blog, I will keep information about myself to what pertains to my bloodline. I will say, however, that my own adoption was to a good family, albeit lonely, as they were in their 40’s when they adopted me as a baby.  They had a son who was married before I was taken into the home.  I was spoiled and disciplined when I was young and later rebelled and ran away.  I mention this because you will see later how this all makes sense.)

 

Okay, back to the story – Bill had brought some papers with him – copies for me of the information the Children’s Aid had given him. There wasn’t much about our father, but it was fascinating to learn about his mother and his adoptive life.  Imagine growing up in the same town!  Turns out, there were others who grew up in the same town too!

When Bill left, we hugged awkwardly and had a little cry and I was left with much to think about.

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment