EPISODE 8 CEMETERIES AND SORROWS

Posted on

Hello loyal readers.  I have had a lung infection – my excuse for not posting in the last few days.  Am feeling much better now. Well enough to go through a box of physical photos. I will be uploading one on

http://www.canadianheadstones.com and on ancestry.com.

I guess you would like to hear what happened with my brother Bill and my marriage and my son. Bill and I kept in contact, my marriage fizzled, we lost the house, and we both moved on. As for my son, we lost contact. As I said, I thought I had lost him forever and that he would never speak to me again. He may have thought the same thing. Whatever – we had no contact for many years.
I moved to a small village in Quebec close to where my husband lived so we could get together with our lawyer and get things handled easily. It was awkward, but amicable. We only needed one lawyer.
During this time, Bill had been given the name of our father and I put up the name on the internet and got a hit from a geneology forum. I was so excited! I replied and then a disappointment – that person said she was not the person I was looking for. Months later I got a hit from another woman – the former one’s sister – saying “We need to talk.” Turns out that I had, indeed, connected with the right person. For the next two years we corresponded by email and finally exchanged phone numbers. When I got a call from my sister I was excited and relaxed all at the same time. (Skype wasn’t in the picture at that time). We are both chatterboxes it turns out and we talked for at least two hours long distance from Alberta (her) to Quebec (me). In the next few months, pictures were exchanged and it was agreed that Bill and I DID belong to that family. We both looked so much like our father. What followed was truly an adventure…….

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment