EPISODE 10 CHECKED BAGGAGE

Posted on

What do YOU put in your 2 allowed pieces of checked baggage? I put all my favorite books. I figured I could buy clothes at a thrift store when I got there and also furniture, so I checked my books, used a backpack as a carry-on, and a big purse (that was still allowed then and wasn’t counted as a carry-on). Why books? Because some of them I had had since university days and the characters and memories were dear to me. All I had to do to cheer myself up was look at the spines of those books on the shelf and I could remember without even reading it again. Bibliophiles will know what I mean.

Crossing Canada from Quebec to Alberta didn’t seem like a long way, because all I saw were clouds under us. Pretty boring. No sense of going from one province to another. A long wait in Calgary – also boring – because the airport,for me, was just like a big mall. I went round and round, window shopping, eating, sitting, round some more – I think it was three hours. Then the real adventure began….

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment