CONNECTING

Posted on

Another genealogy tip: if you are an ancestry.com user, don’t forget to check your messages. I keep forgetting and today I remembered. Found a message from someone who turned out to be connected to my tree 6 generations back and he has information for me and vice versa. Detective work on both sides will produce not only information, but perhaps a new friendship. That’s what happened with my co-author of http://www.mccawscometolife.blogspot.com and me. We are fifth cousins and, over the last year, have become friends with mutual respect. Just one more example of how doing one’s family history can lead to adventures….friends, blogs, published material, and, of course, the thrill of chasing down leads or getting past that brick wall when someone in your tree seems to have vanished into thin air. That “EUREKA _ I”VE FOUND IT” moment is priceless. Even more so when I see it in other people who I help. It’s like prospecting and the gold is knowing that someone in your bloodline will not be forgotten.

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment