EPISODE 14

Posted on

Oops.  At the end of Episode 13, I promised you a couple of interesting stories about my mother’s side of the family.  My oldish memory is to blame and, besides, I had other stories more recent to tell you.  This story is about King Edward (Longshanks) of England [His rival was William Wallace, better known as Braveheart (or Mel Gibson for you moviegoers)].  Seems he had a mistress (just one, you say?)  She was one of his wife’s handmaidens (or so the story goes). Her name was “Corona” and she named her illegitimate daughter Lucy.  Lucy Corona married William Debaguly.  This all happened in the late 13th century.  The Debaguley name got changed in the 17th century to Bagley.  Sarah Bagley married John Mack (I’ll get back to him another time).  The Mack family line, in the 19th century, married into my mother’s family on her mother’s side.  There – it’s all charted out and up in my hallway.

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment