CLOSING DOORS AND OPENING WINDOWS

Sadness ruled my day as I realized I had to cancel evening activities because of lung problems. One of those was volunteering at the Family History Center as a Family History Consultant. I love helping others with their genealogy and I would miss it tremendously. Then, Wed. night, I saw a poster asking for people to work at home doing the same thing AND working on the familysearch.org Wikki and Facebook page and Blog – just some of the possibilities. I made the call, got the info, and was accepted and enrolled in classes for the end of September. Now the final stages: checking my computer and getting papers signed and background checks, etc. I am SOOO relieved and grateful to still be able to serve without endangering my health. I was told that there are many like me with multiple health issues who could not otherwise serve. Now we can use our skills and spend time at our computers and meet and work with some wonderful people. Staying home doesn’t have to mean isolation from the world. As a senior, I can’t stress enough the importance of staying in touch with the outside world. Computers are a way to do that – they can open a window on the world. I have to say I have contact with some ladies in the building and we get together every Monday night and I do go out in the daytime. In bad weather, a Wii Fit Plus helps get the kinks out. I am SO looking forward to this new learning experience and I will be able to share daily with all of you, having more to share. And speaking of sharing, I was able to type in some French Wed. night for a lady whose ancestor was born in France. I found some sights for her and she was able to have the pages translated automatically on Internet Explorer and take it from there. One person at a time, one ancestor at a time, we march on.

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment