DUCKS AND HUNGARIAN ROOTS

This is a pic of ducks on the lake in Mt. Tremblant, Quebec. Well, one duck. The rest are following. My ducks are getting lined up nicely. Got all my papers signed Sunday and they will be faxed to Utah today so I can start my 5-week course the end of Sept. Some more questions to be asked and my computer to be checked for high-speed connection, Skype capability, etc. then I’m good to go. Classes are on Skype. Isn’t technology wonderful? I’m relieved I don’t have to go out in the evening anymore, which means I can either get out in the daytime more if the weather is good and I will also have more time to spend learning all this new stuff. My French abilities are in demand too, I’m told. (My accent is decidedly Quebec-Canadienne, though. What does all this have to do with Hungarian roots, you say? Nothing at all. Just thinking on the keyboard.

Now to Hungary. I have run up against a brick wall researching Hungarian roots for someone. I had found some people on Ancestry.ca and saved immigration records, but hadn’t taken a look at the original image, other than to read the typewritten indexed part. I did save the image to that person, however, and thought I should take another look. I pumped the image up to 200% and had to use my magnifying glass, but I found, near the end of the line on which my person’s name was written, a handwritten memo that my person was coming to “visit” his brother in New Jersey. I looked up the brother, and he had come over 6 months earlier with his wife to visit a cousin with another name. Don’t know if the cousin is hers or his. Her maiden name isn’t given, but now I have the cousin to look up and the wife with perhaps the cousin’s last name, or it could lead to her maiden name. Records in Hungary, I’ve found are hard to find and I want to research why as well. So I have work to do – or fun play – :). Sometimes I get lazy and sometimes I just plain forget because I’m following another track, but it pays to slow down and read original documents thoroughly. I have done indexing myself, and I know that only the basic information is typed out, so please take a second look. You may find a treasure or two like I did. It’s a new learning experience every day in this genealogy quest. Is it dedication or addiction? A little (or a lot) of both, I suspect. Happy hunting out there!

About nsharon2

retired English professor lifelong learner Family History Center Consultant Hobbies: crocheting gifts, reading, walking, shopping, blogging, board games, Hidden Object and Mahjong games on computer. Scrabble on Facebook. I have a blue and white baby budgie names Billy who likes to sing to John Fogerty

Leave a comment